Final Reflection: From Authenticity to Community Gardens-Holly

Despite the pandemic and online classes, this has been one of the most interesting and thought-provoking courses I have taken at USC. When reflecting on this course, many topics and discussions come to mind. The first topic that really stuck with me was the idea of authenticity. After we discussed authenticity, I found myself analyzing the different restaurants I went to. Asking myself questions like “is this staged authenticity”, “how has this recipe changed overtime”, or “what is the basis for this food being authentic”. At first, I was bothered by these questions floating around in my head and wanted to just enjoy the food, but as the course continued, I realized that it is important to ask these questions. Food goes far beyond just the taste, there is meaning and an experience that goes with every meal. And that was something else I never considered prior to this class. I generally just ate for survival and nutritional purposes, but now I value both the eating experience and the story that is being told through the food. This course gave me a new outlook on food and all of the small details that go along with eating. In the future, I will continue to question my food and consider all aspects of the meal. Additionally, I learned a lot about the role immigration has played in the Los Angeles food community. This ranges from street vendors to Alta California cuisine. Mexican immigrants really shaped the Los Angeles food community and the way California is viewed as a whole. This also leads into the concept of food fusion and the blending of different cultures in Los Angeles, which is something the city is now commonly known for.

This course has also revealed the many problems in our food system. I think the biggest problem with the U.S food system is access to fresh food. Since the beginning of the semester we have been discussing food deserts and different ways people have tried to ease this problem. This is a nationwide issue, but I think we can all do little things to help in our communities. I found the idea of community gardens to be the most appealing, and appreciated all of the insightful things Ron Finley said in his Ted Talk. Gardening is something that is therapeutic and rather simple, and it is something that can bring an entire community together. Not only would it provide fresh food for the community, but also teach the children in the community about nutrition and create a safe space for them. Creating community gardens within food deserts and more urban areas is a great idea, but the process of creating one is difficult. This is mainly due to the purchasing of vacant lots, and working with the city to create these spaces. It is a terrible thing that people have to go through such great lengths just to help their community, and in some instances face push back from the city. Ron Finley gave the example of when he tried to use the small piece of grass on the sidewalk as a garden, and ended up being fined by the city. Additionally, I think the farmers markets accepting and matching EBT is a great idea that has already begun with Market Match. This gives families a great incentive to purchase healthier food, and realize the importance of eating fresh food.

Overall, this class has been one of my favorites, and the coursework has actually been implemented into my everyday life. Being an economics major, a lot of my classes are theory based, so it was nice to learn something I can actually use. Additionally, I really enjoyed all of the speakers we had, and the open dialogue that we maintained throughout the semester. Obviously, the semester did not go as planned, but I think we made the most out of the class.

5 thoughts on “Final Reflection: From Authenticity to Community Gardens-Holly

  1. averyylauren

    I appreciate how you discussed your own development throughout the semester – I had a similar experience with questions of authenticity. It always seems like there are too many things to consider, but it’s important that we actually do recognize them. I agree with your solutions and hope we see more of them in the future.

    Like

  2. Sarah Portnoy

    Holly,
    So glad to hear you really enjoyed discussing authenticity and many other topics this semester and that the topics we’ve discussed have impacted your attitude towards eating in general, dining, and I would also assume the idea of where your food comes from, as well. And glad to hear you found learning about urban agriculture and school and community gardens to be so valuable!
    Glad to hear you think we made the best of the situation–We (your professors) were never trained to teach online and over Zoom. So, we are learning, too! So, thanks for your patience with the “adventure!” and for your engagement with the material this semester!

    Like

  3. Miracle Mitchell

    Hey Holly! I really liked how you mentioned how difficult even the little improvements are to complete despite being super important for the community. It definitely points to one of the reasons things like these take so much time to complete- there is so much largely unnecessary pushback from people in power that those who want to help are left demoralized. Super important that we all come together to work through it anyway. I agree that this class was super useful.

    Like

  4. alyssafelixarreola

    Hey Holly! I loved reading your reflection and seeing the growth this class brought you! It always makes me so happy when at the end of a semester I can reflect on class and see the growth it brought me along with how that class has changed me. I agree with you, seeing how you started to reflect on the food you are eating as I believe I have really been able to reflect on food and how it connects to my community and relationships.

    Like

  5. Isela King

    Hi Holly! The topic of authenticity was something that really struck me too. At first the whole concept was confusing but this class did a great job of helping me better understand it.

    Like

Leave a comment